Instagram being a popular social media platform can be in a way overwhelming. You may have various reasons as to why you want to deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account,
- Maybe your account was attacked
- You want to be off the grid for a while
- You might have gotten tired of social media
- Or you just simply want to start a fresh, this is the best option for us all.
Well whatever reason it may be, you should be glad to know that you can simply deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram in seconds.
Do you want to deactivate or delete your account
There is a difference between deactivating and deleting your Instagram account. It all depends on you.Deactivating your Instagram account is just temporary, all your information which includes your profile, followers, uploads, likes and comments will be hidden from the public. If you want to restore your deactivated account just log in using your username and password normally.
How to temporary deactivate your Instagram account
Deactivating your Instagram can not be done on the mobile app. You have to use your favorite computer or mobile browser. Follow these simple steps to temporary deactivate your Instagram account;
- Visit the Instagram website on your favorite desktop or mobile browser and login using your username and password.
- Click or Tap your profile picture and select Edit profile.
- Scroll down untill you see, Temporarily disable my account, click or Tap on that.
- From the drop-down menu, Why are you disabling your account? Select an option and type in your password. After selecting a reason and entering your password, an option to disable your account will appear.
- Click or Tap Temporarily disable account.
That’s it you have successfully temporarily deactivated your Instagram account and can access it any time you want by just logging in.
Permanently deleting you Instagram account is irreversible, you will lose all of your information which includes your profile, followers, all of your uploads, likes and comments.If incase you want to create a new Instagram account, you will not be able to use your username from the deleted account.
Download you Instagram data first When you delete your Instagram account, you lose all of your data so the best thing to do is to download it.
How to download you Instagram data
You will still keep your photos and videos that you have posted over time even after permanently deleting your Instagram account.
- After you have logged in you Instagram account using your favorite computer or mobile browser, click or tap your profile and select settings. (Gear icon)
- Click on Privacy & security tab and scroll down until you see Request download, click on that.
- Enter the email address where you want you Instagram data to be sent and then type in your password.
- Within a period of 48 hours you will receive an email containing your data. Click Download Data.
Now that you have successfully downloaded your Instagram data, you can proceed to permanently delete your Instagram account.
How to permanently delete your Instagram account
You have completely made up your mind about deleting you account. This is it there is no turning back. Follow this steps to permanently delete your account;
- Go to the Delete you account page using your mobile or desktop browser. If you have not logged in you account your will be prompted to do so using your username and password.
- From the drop-down menu Why are you deleting, select an option and type in your password.
- The option of deleting your account will appear after selecting an option from the menu.
- Click or tap Permanently delete my account
You have now successfully permanently delete your Instagram account. Don’t forget to download you Instagram data first so that you don’t lose your uploaded photos and videos.